Running Questions and Answers a.k.a. Get to Know Me Better

Since this week’s half marathon training was not about sh*t, I borrowed the prompt for this entry from runningtotravel who borrowed it from The Writting Runner.

When did you start running?

I used to run in cross country and track in high school, but I stopped in college. Um, yeah, New Orleans was far too humid for running. Because of New Orleans’ weather, my college’s cross country team started practice at 5:30 am. Um, yeah, I’m not an early riser. My more recent running beginnings happened in 2010. My bicycle had two flat tires one morning, but rather than repairing the tires, I decided to run to work.

What do you consider to be the hardest distance to train for and/or race?

Definitely, a full marathon because you have to dedicate so much time to training. Also, it seems like there is never a perfect season for training – either it’s too hot in the summer or it’s too cold in winter.

Describe some of your favorite race courses.

Definitely, the Rock n Roll Series Montreal Half Marathon. Although I have visited Montreal several times, you really got a nice tour of the city’s (technically province’s) three islands. Unfortunately, the more recent Rock n Roll Series Montreal races do not include the other two islands (Notre Dame and Helene).

What is one weird/unusual thing you do as a runner that most other runners don’t.

Everyone knows this . . . I’m a smoker who runs marathons. Or a marathoner who smokes. 😉

img_3738

Do you have a bucket-list race?

I would love to run a marathon in another country. Actually, the plan was to run the full marathon in Montreal; however, I injured myself and had to settle with running the city’s half-marathon. Outside of mentally converting miles into kilometers, I would not mind running a marathon in Paris or Madrid.

10 thoughts on “Running Questions and Answers a.k.a. Get to Know Me Better

Add yours

    1. It may have sailed, unless the organizers bring back the islands of St. Helen and Notre Dame. One of my favorite parts of that marathon was running across the Pont de la Concorde (or whatever that bridge is called) into Montreal. The current course looks mostly like an in-and-out type course (borrrrrrring). I wonder why the organizers took out the two island and made the marathon/half-marathon within the confines of Montreal island?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So glad my post inspired you to do your own answers! What events did you run in high school? I ran cross country but in track I ran the 100 and 300 hurdles and 4x400m relay. That’s cool you went to college in New Orleans, my husband and I are going to visit there for the first time this fall. I didn’t realize the rock and roll series was in Canada as well.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I would like to run a race in Canada. Specifically Vancouver. Did you ever watch the Real Housewives of Vancouver? They had a show briefly. The women were quite trainwreck-ish. Hmmm…let me see if I can find it again on YT.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑