Let’s get it started

Screenshot (10)I have decided to embark on a new training program and run the United Airlines NYC Half Marathon on March 18th. I  was planning to start in Jan, but I figured why not start now? It’s for the best to start now, since Christmas and New Year’s may interject in the training plan.

screenshot-6.png

I really want to make a good faith effort to (really) improve on my sub par performance in the NYC Marathon. Since two major stressful situations, working at a crappy job and searching for jobs to replace the crappy job, have been extracted from my life (. . . for the most part), I think that I can fully concentrate on doing my best for this half-marathon.

What’s in a goal?

I ran this half-marathon two years ago and did really well for myself. I would like to improve on my previous experience and run a sub 1:45 half-marathon. This goal may be a little tricky, because this Half has a brand new course (insert cheer here), which is not as flat as the previous course. What the point of doing something if there is no challenge?

Screenshot (13)

I found this Iron Man sub 1:45 half-marathon training plan that I have started. Monday is an off/X-training day, so I did start it 😉 With five days of running, the plan is a little aggressive . . . for me. That said, I will try to consistently run 4 days a week with this plan, because I do not want to screw up my back training for this thing. The funny thing is I had to defer last year’s United Half to  2018, because I screwed up my back.

Although the plan maybe aggressive for me, I think that I’m coming into this training plan off of a good base. I just “ran” the NYC marathon last month and I had a nice 15 K race this past weekend. Hopefully, I have a good enough distance base to start improving on my speed. Also, I do not have too many weekend commitments planned, so I can actually do my long runs.

Scheduling this crap:

Based on a suggestion from another blogger (***), I decided to import this training plan into my Google Calendar app, so I always will know what’s planned and can make any modifications to the running schedule. I might as well go with this suggestion, because I pretty much live and breath using online calendars for my current job.

Tech Question:

New Fitbit or Apple Watch?

My current Fitbit Surge is beginning to fall apart, so I’m in the market for a new fitness watch. I really have been contemplating moving to the “dark side” and purchasing an Apple Watch. Eventually, this (idea) was bound to happen – I have an iPhone, Mac book, iPad (first generation), and Apple TV. The price really is the only thing stopping me, because I do not know if I feel comfortable paying so much money for a device. That said, I really have not had any serious issues with Fitbit’s products, so I would not mind getting another Fitbit product. I have loved using the Fitbit Surge for measuring my physical activities over the past few years. Decisions, decisions, decisions.

10 thoughts on “Let’s get it started

Add yours

  1. I have never followed a plan and I am tempted to follow on now. 1:45 is aggressive but I know you can do it! I am still trying to break 1:50. I think for me the key it building my miles. You seem to be well seasoned when it comes to miles so your speed is definitely an essential item to your training! Thanks for the shout out on your post! Hope the scheduling goes well for you!!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I have to learn how to start slow – the adrenalin of the crowds propel me fast at the onset and it catches up to me in the end! Good luck man- you have theee months to get there. I like your chances!

        Like

  2. The things that stopped me from getting an Apple watch is that there isn’t a stop/start button. So I’ve stayed true to Garmin. I just got the Vivoactive 3 and I absolutely love it. It displays my notifications, counts steps and staircases, is waterpoof, does HR. This is my first HR monitor so it’s been interesting getting the data back after running. I also love the Garmin community. I do weekly step challenges with people Garmin randomly sorts me into as well as a challenge with my fiance. I’m a competitive brat, so this also helps me keep active even if I feel blah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑